Cookies, cookies, mooooreee cooookkies!

December 9, 2010 at 1:31 am 1 comment

So lately Ryan and I have been obsessing over our new Netflix account… all we do is watch documentaries!!! There are so many interesting one’s out there! And the bonus? When I should be studying, but I’m watching Netflix, I reassure myself that I am furthering my learning because it’s a documentary!!! BONUS!!

I wanted to share a hilarious, yet disappointing clip that I saw in the documentary Killer at Large (which was by the way extremely interesting and informative!!), but I couldn’t find it.  So you’ll just have to watch the movie for yourselves…

But to keep you busy, here’s a different, yet still hilarious, clip about the cookie monster, or as some angrily call him, the veggie monster!! I just find it so bizarre that parents will actually protest something that is healthy. They say that they will inform their children about cookies and vegetables and the right decisions, which by the way they are not doing a great job seeing as childhood obesity and childhood diabetes is sky rocketing, but why not children see the vegetables then their parents can teach them that COOKIES are a sometimes food? I’m ranting… and when I rant my sentences run on… here’s a clip…

And now for a recipe… of course IT’S COOKIES!!! This recipe was based on a recipe from wholefoodsmarket.com.

Ginger Molasses Cookies

Serves 24

1 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup oat flour (I put some old-fashioned oats in the food processor)

2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1 1/2-2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. ground ginger

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (because this spice mix literally works in everything)

Dash of cardamom

3/4 cup Earth Balance butter

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup organic vegan cane sugar

1 flax egg (1 Tbsp. flax meal + 3 Tbsp. water, combine and let the mixture sit for about 10 minutes before using)

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup molasses

Directions:

Add the flours, baking soda, salt and spices into a medium bowl and whisk together to combine and aerate.

In another bowl, or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the butter and both sugars;cream together on medium speed until light and fluffy.

Add the flax egg, vanilla, and molasses; mix until fully combined.

Combine the dry and wet ingredients, with the mixer on low, until just combined.

Use a scoop, tablespoon, or regular spoon to portion out the cookies onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Leave 1-1 1/2 inches between cookies, but even if they cook together it is easy to get them apart before they cool.  Sprinkle each cookie with a little bit of sugar in the raw, or any large crystal sugar.

Bake in a preheated 375 F oven for 10-12 minutes.  Let sit a minute or so before moving them because they will break.  Then dry on a drying rack.

I noticed that my first batch, which I left in the oven for 10 minutes, turned out to be a little more chewy than the cookies I left in for the full 12 minutes, which, after drying on the drying rack, became crunchy.  It was hard to choose which texture I liked better…

ENJOY!! But remember… cookies are a sometimes food and should be eaten in moderation… unless you are indeed a cookie monster (like me) then you can enjoy them anytime you please!!

And to balance out all of the sugar I have eaten… I made a vegan quesadilla!!! I literally melted at the deliciousness because I haven’t had, nor attempted to make, a quesadilla in so long!! Now I might be obsessed….

Entry filed under: Cozy, vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Birthdays and Kombucha!! Spicy Sweet Potato Home Fries

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Good Morning, Cookie Cookie! | Forked!  |  December 10, 2010 at 8:32 am

    […] THE TIME? Huh? Answer that! And while you’re mulling over that question, make me some of your Ginger Molasses Cookies. Quick, it’s been like three hours since I had a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


